Cub Scout Advancement

UPDATE November 9, 2023: It is official! The Cub Scout program will be updated for the 2024-25 program year.

For more details, visit Cub Scout Program Updates and stay tuned to future episodes of Cub Chat Live! The changes will take effect officially on June 1, 2024.

On the Cub Scout advancement trail, a youth progresses from rank to rank, learning new skills along the way. As Cub Scouts get older and advance through the ranks, the requirements become more challenging to match their new skills and abilities. Cub Scout advancement includes a wide range of group and individual activities youth enjoy. More importantly, the activities are carefully selected to encourage physical, intellectual and character development. At all grades after Kindergarten, new Cub Scouts get to earn a joining rank badge called “Bobcat”.

The rank levels and activities tied to the Cub Scout’s grade and age are as follows:

  • Kindergarten Cub Scouts work toward the Lion badge in the Lion Handbook
  • First Graders have the Tiger badge and Tiger Handbook
  • Second Graders have the Wolf badge and Wolf Handbook
  • Third Graders have the Bear badge and Bear Handbook
  • Fourth Graders work on the Webelos badge and Webelos Handbook (“Webelos” stands for “WE’ll BE LOyal Scouts”)
  • Fifth Graders work on the Arrow of Light badge also found in the Webelos Handbook

A Cub Scout will start at the rank and Handbook appropriate to the Cub Scout’s age (grade). 


Bobcat Bobcat - The first Rank!
Lion Rank Lions - Kindergarten
Tiger Rank Tigers - First Grade
Wolf Rank Wolf- Second Grade
Bear Bear - Third Grade
Webelos Rank Webelos - Fourth Grade
Arrow of Light Rank Arrow of Light - Fifth Grade


Beyond The Ranks – Additional Awards and Recognition:

Religious AwardsEach of 42 major religions have organized an Emblem program that adherents can pursue to strengthen their faith.   

Cyber ChipToday’s youth are spending more time than ever using digital media for education, research, socializing, and fun. To help families and volunteers keep youth safe while online, the Cub Scout program uses the Cyber Chip award to instruct and increase awareness. For 1st through 5th grade.

Cub Scout RecruiterThis award recognizes a Scout who recruits a friend into Scouting. Any Scout can recruit a friend and earn this badge.

Cub Scout Outdoor ActivityThis award recognizes the Scout for taking part in outdoor recreation and conservation projects. In many cases, you can earn this award while doing other Scouting activities.

Cub Scout World ConservationTo encourage Scouts to “think globally” and “act locally” to preserve and improve our environment. This program is designed to make youth members aware that all nations are closely related through natural resources and that we are interdependent with our world environment.

STEM/NOVA AwardsFor their first Nova awards, Scouts in the 2nd Grade and older have the opportunity to earn the Nova award patch. For subsequent STEM Nova awards earned, Scouts receive a Pi device to add to their patch.

Whittling ChipTo promote the safe use of pocket knives by Cub Scouts, Scouts (3rd Grade and above) can earn this award.

Messengers Of Peace - To recognize individuals who participate in a Messengers of Peace project (service project) – youth and adults. A global service project program carried out by Scouts throughout the world.

Shooting SportsTo learn about shooting sports – slingshots, archery and BBs – Cub Scouts from 1st Grade and up can earn shooting sports awards, first covering safety, then covering shooting sports skills.


File Name Description
Bear 30 Day Challenge Download
Lion 30 Day Challenge Download
Tiger 30 Day Challenge Download
Webelos 30 Day Challeneg Download
Wolf 30 Day Challenege Download